Taybah, The Sweet City of The Messenger

Ever since I returned from Madina Al Munawara two weeks ago , I’ve  tried to post on that sweet city. Despite plenty of pleasant memoirs and experiences, I feel really hard to express them! Madeena is a sensation and it triggers a great inflow of overwhelming emotions. What I can say simply now is that it is the sweetest of all the cities on the planet. I express my obligation to the great geniuses of the past who eternalized their evergreen expressions of prophetic love to be lip-synched by the less privileged lovers in the future.

Previously I have written in my post on Qaseedah Burdah of Imam Al Busiri: “Can we pen down a single line, worthier or dearer than those sacred lines, even if we spend all of our life span?? Never! O’ Imam Al Busiri!!, May Allah reward you with the best of rewards. May Allah join us with our Beloved Master. Ameen”

Here is one of the most famous songs on Madina recently presented by renowned Quran reciter and popular Kuwaiti Singer Mashary Al Afasy followed by Its lyrics and translation.

يـــا طيبـــــة O Tayba,
يا طيبة يا طيبة
يا دوا العيانا
اشتقنالك والهوى نادانا
والهوى نادانا
O Tayba, O Tayba,
O cure of the helpless
we missed you,
and the passion has called us
لما سار المركب نسانى
ساروا والدمع ما جفانى
أخذوا قلبى مع جنانى
يا طيبة ياتيم الولهانا
بااتيم الولهانا
As the ship departed, it forgot me
they sailed away and my tears never dried up
they took my heart and my soul with them
O Tayba, you’re love of the bewildered
you’re love of the bewildered
قبلتى بيت الله صابر
علنى يوما لك زائر
ياترى هل ترانى ناظر
للكعبة وتغمرنى بأمانا
تغمرنى بأمانا
My direction of prayer is the house of Allah,
I’m patient perhaps
a day will come to visit you
I wonder, Will I be looking upon Kaaba
and being overwhelmed with its safety..
نبينا أغلى أمنياتى
أزورك لو مرة بحياتى
وبجوارك صلى صلاتى
واذكر ربى واتلو القرآنا
واتلو القرآنا
Our prophet, the dearest of my ambitions
is to visit u,At least once in my life
and next to you, to perform my prayers
to praise my Lord, and to recite Qur’an
and to recite Qur’an
بشراك .. المدينة بشراك
بقدوم الهادي يا بشراك
فهل لى مأوى فى حماك
أتمنى .. فالنور سبانا
نوركم سبانا
O Madina, How lucky you are
for the coming of the Guiding Star
May I take a refuge in your shelter
I wish, the light has enchanted us
your light has enchanted us

Some extremists Like so called “Salafi” Mufti Obaid al Jabiri raised voice against this extremely popular song saying it is polytheistic to call O Tybah and to seek cure from it. In fact it is a reference for Love. Also they cannot digest the poet’s “dearest” ambition to visit the Prophet as well as  to pray and recite Quran beside His sacred tomb. All these stand against the so called Salafist ideology which is abandoned by the mainstream, the lion share of, Islamic scholars.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://baqavi.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/taybah-the-sweet-city-of-the-messenger/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

